Becker Automotive System

Discussion in 'MMI' started by JimH, Mar 21, 2009.

1. JimH Member

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to the forum and could do with a little help - I have a A6 2.8 FSI 2008 quattro.
    My problem is that the car was destined for Japan but ended up here in the UK (direct from Germany). Most of the Becker Automotive System is in Japanese - the radio frequency band is too narrow and only a couple of stations can be found - The sat nav is obviously U/S here in the UK (Japanese language)... etc., etc., :cry:
    Can any of you experienced members or Tech's tell me what I have to get/buy/install to put the system right? :D

Many thanks
    JimH
  2. Advertisement

3. a4ss4abt Active Member

So you have an A6 with japanese MMI.:-k Not so easy to convert:oops::oops:
    AFAIK you should try to change region in your 07 Controller from JAPAN to EU with the Bootloader Sequence using the Hidden Menu SETUP+CAR but I really don't know if all the other modules can work only recoding them.
    VCDS is mandatory and the right knowledge too so if you are a newbie you have to read a lot here or better to ask the help of a professionel in your country.
  4. mlk New Member

Japanese MMI has some really significant differences in the trunk rack area at least. For example, I believe the navigation module uses some kind of video output instead of just MOST to communicate with the head unit... and there are all sorts of differences if the car has TV etc. (I believe in Japan MMI 2G already had TV pay/access card slots etc.)

May I suggest obtaining the Audi A6 repair manuals (the official German ones), the differences are described there in detail:

Notes on Audi repair manuals - How to find/access them
    http://www.geocities.com/a6retrofit/articles/audirepairmanuals.html
  5. craigyb Active Member

I would do two things, replace the Nav unit with an EU one and flash the MMI controller with EU firmware.
  6. JimH Member

Many thanks to all.