A4 B7 RNS-E install

Discussion in 'RNS-E' started by Geoff, Jul 27, 2006.

1. Geoff New Member

Hi,

I have a 2005 A4 B7 and have just bought a RNS-E EU model from ebay. I'm new to this but looking to install it into my car. It didn't come with any cables, do you know what I need?

Reading through the forums it sounds fairly straight forward and should be pretty much plug and play.

Anybody done this before?

Thanks,

Geoff
  2. Google

• Premium Supporter

PetrolDave Super Moderator

You'll need a diversity antenna adapter, and a harness adapter (different if you have Bose or not).

Do you have a GPS antenna? - there won't be one fitted to your car (it's included in the "sharkfin" which is standard in the US but not in the UK).

All of those you can get from suppliers like Kufatec.

If your car has a Symphony II then with those it will be a plug-n-play, but if you've got a Chrous then you'll need to do quite a few mods to the centre console to get the RNS-E to fit.

Then finally you'll need access to VAG-COM to code the RNS-E and setup your DIS to display the navigation info (if you've got the red DIS you'll have the well documented on here "red DIS problem" of having to turn the RNS-E off and back on the get the navigation information to display on the DIS).
  3. Geoff New Member

Hi,

Yes i've ordered the cables and GPS antenna from Kufatec.

What happens if you don't update the VAG-COM codes, will the unit work?

Have you got a colour DIS then? Do you know of anybody that has done a retorfit of the colour DIS? It would be nice to have.

Thanks,

Geoff
    • Premium Supporter

The unit might or might not work properly - depending on what it's current coding is. You'll still need VAG-COM to tell the DIS to look for the navigation info.

I've got an S4 and they come as standard with the colour DIS.